If you are not afraid of heights and you want to experience the third highest railway in the world, you can take the Train to the Clouds.

The railway construction started around 1920 designed by  the American engineer Richard Fontaine Maury. The 220 km route, crosses a very complex topography and it does so through twenty-one tunnels, thirty-two bridges and thirteen viaducts.

Currently there are two types of services:

Bus – train – bus

Departure by bus from the colonial city of Salta located at 1,187 meters above sea level, passing through Campo Quijano and Gobernador Solá until you reach El Alfarcito where you have a rural breakfast. The journey continues along the Quebrada de las Cuevas and the Muñano plain until reaching San Antonio de los Cobres to embark on the Train to the Clouds that leads to La Polvorilla Viaduct located at 4,220 meters above sea level. Afterwards, the trip goes back to San Antonio de los Cobres, where you take the bus back to Salta. On the way, you stop in Santa Rosa de Tastil.

Only train

The journey begins in San Antonio de los Cobres, where you embark on the Train to the Clouds that leads to La Polvorilla Viaduct.

Tickets can be purchased online. The bookings are nominal and it is necessary to show your passport or ID card to access the train.


To avoid altitude sickness, it is necessary to acclimatize

It is important to sleep well the night before, eat lightly and do not drink alcohol

It is recommended to drink plenty of water and bring sunscreen, sunglasses and windbreaks

For more information about the Train to the Clouds.

We use own and third party cookies. To continue browsing, please accept the use of these cookies. More information

Cookies settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" and thus offer you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue using this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" you are giving us your consent to continue using them.