There are many native animals in Australia, some as well known as the kangaroo and the koala, and others you probably have never heard of, such as the wombat or the dingo. Among the native Australian animals you may find mammals, birds and reptiles, among others…


 In Australia three types of mammals coexist:

  • Monotremes have beaks and cloacas like birds, have fur like mammals, but also lay eggs. One example of these mammals is the platypus, which lives in rivers; and the echidna, with bristly fur.
  • The marsupials, which have babies that are born in a state of late gestation and are generally incubated in the mother’s bag like the koala, which lives in the trees; or the wombat which lives in burrows; the numbat and bilbi, located in Western Australia; and the Tasmanian devil, a protected species found in Tasmania; the quoll, in danger of extinction; or the kangaroo, with around 55 species, and the wallaby, very similar to the kangaroo but smaller.
  • The placental mammals, whose babies develop in the uterus of the mother like in the dingo or wild dog, located throughout the country, except in Tasmania.


Among birds, of which there are more than 800 species, highlights include the kookaburra, known to be the symbol of Australian birds, the emu, which does not fly and measures up to almost two meters high, and the cassowary, very similar to the ostrich with red and blue colours on its head.


You have to be careful with some of the many reptiles that we can find in Australia, such as poisonous snakes or crocodiles, either Johnston’s crocodile or the estuary crocodile are dangerous too.

Did you know that 21 of the 25 snakes deadliest in the world can be found in these lands?

And do not miss King’s Clamidosaurus, also known as the Frilled Lizard, with a long spiked cartilage collar that opens when threatened.

Marine species

In Australian waters, we can find up to 4,000 species, from beautiful colourful fishes in the Great Barrier Reef, to humpback whales, orcas, sharks and dugongs.

Did you also know that in its marine waters we can see six of the seven species of marine turtles in the world?

So the six of the seven species of marine turtles we find are:

  • The leatherback turtle (the largest).
  • The green turtle (the only one that is herbivorous).
  • And the loggerhead turtle (reddish brown with a very large head).
  • The Hawksbill turtle (lives in tropical waters).
  • The flat turtle (flattened shell that is only found in Australia).
  • And the olive ridley (it owes its name to its olive-coloured shell).

The animal and plant biodiversity of this country is amazing. It has tropical and subtropical ecosystems, mountainous areas and tundra. If you want to enjoy all these Australian animals, be sure to visit one of its natural parks and zoos.

We use own and third party cookies. To continue browsing, please accept the use of these cookies. More information

Cookies settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" and thus offer you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue using this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" you are giving us your consent to continue using them.